I’ve been thinking a lot about my future lately. In July I will be thirty-three years old. Time sure does fly.

Not too long ago you met me as a twenty-three/twenty four year old young woman who was trying to find her place in the world. Now look at me…

I’m a homeowner. I have a nice checking and savings account. I have a job that I don’t love, but I make a decent wage.

Not bad for someone who struggled for a long time and didn’t have a pot to piss in nor a window to throw it out.

So, what’s next?

That’s the question I keep asking myself. I’m not married. I don’t have any kids. I want to be married and I want kids. However, it doesn’t look like either will happen for me…any time soon.

I live in a three storied house by myself. When I first moved into this house I was terrified because I wasn’t used to so much space. I was hearing shit and feel overwhelmed. It took some time for me to get used to it.

Eventually I got it in my head that I would turn the place into a nice bachleorette pad…complete with a pool table, leather reclining sofa, granite counter tops, flat screen TVs, tile flooring, wood flooring, and custom artwork.

The custom artwork would include life size images of my favorite comic book characters re-imagined as black women. For example, I have always loved the character Joker from Batman….

Imagine the above image with a black woman. In my mind she is rocking a green mohawk, a skin tight purple and green suit, and a sly smile while holding the customary joker card. She will be painted on a 6 foot canvas.

Next to my black female joke, on their own separate canvas, will be Black Wonder Woman, Storm, Black Spider Girl, and Black Super Woman. This art will expand the width of my living room wall which is huge.

I already have an artist working on this art.

I painted my home office and decorated it myself. It was the first time I’ve ever touched a paint brush in my life. So far my office is the only room in the house that is complete. This room is on the first floor of my house. Here is a picture…

My house is coming together….slowly, but I’m pleased.

Other than my home I’ve been thinking about money and how to make more of it. I just got a $25,000 car accident settlement check. I’m thinking about buying some rental property back in my hometown where I can get a decent house for $50k if not less.

I’ve been thinking about this for a while. Financially, I want to be in a position where I don’t have to work unless I want to work. Rental property will provide a steady stream of income. I think this is my best bet.

I’m going to get old one day. I want to be able to support myself in old age…especially since it doesn’t look like I will have any dependents to care for me or look after me.

I’m happy I’m thinking about this now. There are people twice my age who don’t make the money I make who didn’t think about what the future might mean for them financially.

I won’t be like those people.